right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Chances??

phillydystphillydyst 4 replies3 discussions Forum Champion
Hi

I'm only a sophomore in HS so I have time. Penn will likely be my #1 choice. I have cerebral palsy & dystonia. Dystonia is a neurologic movement disorder that causes my body to twist, spasm & move unbridledly. I use a power wheelchair, as well as my iPad to communicate most of the time.

Last year, I had two deep brain stimulators (DBS) placed at Penn in an attempt to control my unbridled dystonia. The DBS has helped immensely with the tremors from the dystonia. I am now able to sleep through the night most of the time, except when the dystonia exacerbates. However, we are still working to optimize the DBS settings especially the cantankerous twisting and my speech. I am hoping further adjustments to my DBS may help my speech and twisting. Some days are better than others.