right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

ACT Prep Where to Start?

jlee5559jlee5559 0 replies1 discussions Forum Champion
Hello, this is my first thread on this forum I just recently registered because I believe that I might be able to get some advices from people who have already graduated high school.

I'll just inform you about my background before I ask some questions. I was born in the US(my ethnicity is asian) and went to South Korea when I was 7. In Korea I wasn't well educated(stopped going to school after 4th grade) because we had a lot of financial problems in my family and my father went to the US leaving our family in Korea. about 3-4 years later our family was able to make enough money to come to US and see our father. Because of the long time I spent in Korea I had forgotten all my english, but I eventually catched up. I skipped school since I was 4th grade so I lack in a lot of english and I'm failing the ACT on english.

I'm currently a sophomore and I had taken the Practice ACT(a retired ACT) a few days ago and this is how my scores came out to be.

Math: 31

English: 20

Reading: 16

Science: 22

I know I'm going to be able to get a 35-36 on math next year but for english, reading, and science it's not looking good. Half of the reading I can't understand what they're saying and english I just read the sentence and go with the answer that my guts tell me to go with. Now I want to get a 35-36 on all of the subjects. Most people think it's impossible for me to get a 35 on the ACT just because of my scores recently but I believe that I could do it considering that I was able to catch up to other people faster than most people could and I spend most of my hours studying.

For english part on ACT where do I start to learn rules of writing sentences and paragraphs?

What are some tips on improving my reading scores?

Any tips on the ACT?

Do I just need to memorize all the rules to get a 36 on the english part?