Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Study says lower-achieving students often are taught by less-experienced teachers

2»

Replies to: Study says lower-achieving students often are taught by less-experienced teachers

• barronsbarrons Registered Users Posts: 48
    edited May 2013
    Yes and at each one I received regular calls from headhunters looking to see if I would be open to a move to another firm.
    I have some pro experience in teaching too.
    The point remains, anyone that is good at their job does not have to accept conditions they do not like. Even good waiters get recruited by other restaurants with better tips/higher volume. Same for good exotic dancers. Your claim that the boss rules is false.
  • gouf78gouf78 Registered Users Posts: 54
    edited May 2013
    Glido (13) is right. Experienced parents and good students follow good teachers.
  • cptofthehousecptofthehouse Registered Users Posts: 252
    edited May 2013
    Xiggi, a lot of schools have teacher's unions and other things well in place that allow seniority to be rewarded in ways like choice. Trying to change any of things makes extracting teeth a breeze.

When I lived in the midwest, when a new elementary school was built, there was a mass exodus from the other schools in the district by the most senior teachers as they wanted the newer facilities which also served a more well to do group. Not much anyone could do about it. Making changes in the way public schools are run is a terribly slow process.