right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Is going to a prestigious university worth the premium?

Replies to: Is going to a prestigious university worth the premium?

• fractalmstrfractalmstr 12 replies0 discussions
    This kind of discussion has taken place on CC many, many times. Lesser-known colleges can have very good programs in various disciplines, including engineering. Smart, hard-working students can get very good educations in all kinds of colleges. There are still some benefits to attending more selective institutions, but some of these benefits are intangible, and they are (at least in part) luxuries.

I could not have said it better.

What you have stated is pretty much reality. As a working engineer myself, I am friends with grads from all calibers of schools... the consensus is that, at the undergrad level, elite schools often provide fringe benefits and better networking opportunities. Lesser known schools, on the other hand, can often provide a better overall college experience since there isn't the incessant hypercompetitive and prestige mentality around campus.

I had an amazing undergrad experience where I went, and it was not an elite school in the sense of national rankings (although it is a great school for Aero Engineering). If I had to do it all over again, knowing what I know now, I would still choose to go to the same school. I feel the experience I had there was priceless, and prestigeless (ha).
    edited May 2013
    · Reply · Share
  • HuntHunt 152 replies1 discussions Junior Member
    I get it, but I would state that there are probably plenty of students at the more prestigious schools that would be no more prepared for Shakespeare than students at Podunk U.