Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

McGill GPA

Heisenberg27Heisenberg27 Posts: 2 Harvard Champion
edited May 2013 in McGill University
Hi Everyone

Please excuse the fact that I know several threads similar to this one already exist but, as they have yet to answer the questions that have been plaguing my mind for awhile, I decided to start my own.

Alright, so I'm a prospective U0 McGill student accepted to the Faculty of Science as a Computer Science major and I have a significant concern. How feasible is it to achieve a high GPA (e.g. 3.6 to 4.0) in McGill sciences?

As I eventually plan to apply for med school (with bioinformatics as my fall-back undergraduate field of study), I am drawn very heavily to McGill's joint bachelor's degree in Biology and Computer Science. However, while I am relatively satisfied with the notion of applying computer science to medical research in case I'm rejected from medical school, my biggest fear is that, by pursuing a degree at McGill, I will effectively minimize my chances at earning the appropriate grade point average for medical school admissions.

Now, in anticipation of claims that "grade deflation exists at all major Canadian universities", I should note that I am also considering applying to a small, semi-local university where I am reasonably certain it is in fact easier to obtain higher grades (ie. less competition).