right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Not awarded Cal Grant?

ChicobanditoChicobandito 0 replies1 discussions Forum Champion
So I just went to check my Cal Grant status and it looks like I was not awarded one.

My page looks something like this :

Cal Grant A: Not Awarded Competitive (C1)
Cal Grant B: Not Awarded Competitive (C1)
Cal Grant C: Not Awarded Competitive (C1)

I have a 3.78 GPA and will be transferring CSU this fall. Shouldn't this be a good enough GPA for a cal grant?

Does this also mean that I will also not be awarded a need based cal grant as well? I don't see anything about need based awards on my page. My income was under 15k and I am an independent student with a family of 3.

Any info would really be appreciated.

Thanks
5 replies
Post edited by Chicobandito on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Not awarded Cal Grant?

• KenderKender 3 replies0 discussions New Member
    Competitive Cal Grants are limited and not guaranteed. They are doled out based on a point system based on those who applied. Those who applied for the same competitive Cal Grant you did had a higher score than you. That's why you were not awarded a competitive Cal Grant despite having a GPA that met the minimum requirements for entitlement Cal Grants.
    edited May 2013
    · Reply · Share
  • mom2collegekidsmom2collegekids 212 replies4 discussions Junior Member
    My income was under 15k and I am an independent student with a family of 3.

Do you meet the other req'ts? Are there req'ts that you had to have graduated from a Calif high school within a certain number of years? If so, do you meet that req't? Did you meet all deadlines?

You need to call the school to find out if you qualify for the regular Cal Grant. If you're going to a CSU, then it sounds like you'll get a full or near-full Pell Grant, a student loan of about $11k, and if you do get a regular Cal Grant, the amount will be equal to the fees for a CSU.