right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Good Scholarship Chances

crvm11crvm11 4 replies3 discussions Forum Champion
Hi,

I am a sophomore at a private high school. I know its early, but I'm trying to get a sense of things. I have a 4.09 weighted GPA, I am white, and I do the following activities: Varsity cross country, Model UN, Spanish Honor Society, a service initiative program, a social action club, newspaper, and I work in the school shows.
I would not say I have a demonstrated need for aid, but I plan on going to dental school followed by specialty orthodontics training, both of which will be quite expensive. I hope to pay little for undergrad so that I won't be in too much debt later on (a lofty goal, I know).
Keep in mind, by junior/senior year I hope to have closer to a 4.15 GPA. I expect to get a 32-33 on the ACT, and I am not yet sure about the SAT. Out of the following schools, which might I get a good scholarship from?

1. Villanova
2. Fordham
3. Holy Cross
4. Tufts
5. Boston College
6. Boston University
7. Brandeis
8. Northeastern University

If none(which is probable), please list a few schools based on my limited stats- preferably smaller schools very close to metropolitan areas. Thanks for your input!

*also, I am not from the East Coast, where all of the schools I mentioned are. Not sure, but I believe this might be to my benefit?
18 replies
Post edited by crvm11 on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Good Scholarship Chances

• mom2collegekidsmom2collegekids 212 replies4 discussions Junior Member
    What do you consider to be a "good scholarship"? Some/all of these schools cost $55k+ per year. If you were to get a $10k per year scholarship, would your family happily pay the other $45k per year? Is that what you consider a good scholarship?

What are your parents saying? How much do they want to pay per year?

Keep in mind that if your goal is dental school, then having a high GPA and DAT score is the goal.
    edited May 2013