right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Did i ruin my chances of being accepted to a good college?

Slic333Slic333 0 replies1 discussions Forum Champion
I'm currently a junior in high school and my dream college is MIT. I've always wanted to go there and I have great qualifications such as grades and almost perfect ACT and SAT scores. As well as numerous other awards and heads of several different clubs and sports. However, when I was a Sophomore I got a 1-day school suspension in the form of Saturday school for making a stupid mistake of throwing a can out a bus window. It is on my permanent high school disciplinary record and I would otherwise be a reasonable applicant for many prestigious universities. Did i ruin my chances of MIT?
4 replies
Post edited by Slic333 on
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Did i ruin my chances of being accepted to a good college?

• siliconvalleymomsiliconvalleymom 6 replies0 discussions Junior Member
    Have you met with your high school college counselor yet? This is a good question for that person, since they will have to include the incident in your school report.
    edited May 2013
    · Reply · Share
  • Sue22Sue22 31 replies2 discussions New Member
    I doubt this would impact your admissions chances. You made a mistake, owned up to it, took your licks and moved on. Just be careful to keep your nose clean for the next year and a half. One incident looks like a youthful mistake, two look like a pattern.
    edited May 2013
    · Reply · Share
  • getontargetgetontarget 8 replies0 discussions Forum Champion
    It's certainly a good thing this didn't happen your junior or senior year, as those are meticulously inspected as opposed to freshman and sophomore years.
    edited May 2013
    · Reply · Share
  • urbanintroverturbanintrovert 7 replies0 discussions Forum Champion